intro module background

Common weapon charges in Florida

Some of the most common firearm charges filed in Miami include:

  • Unlawful gun discharge
  • Unlawful gun possession
  • Unlawful gun sale
  • Use of a firearm in the commission of a crime
  • Unlawful gun manufacture
  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Allowing minors to access a loaded firearm

Penalties for firearms charges in Miami

Florida lawmakers have a “10-20-Life” law, which imposes severe penalties on those who use a firearm in the commission of a crime. In many cases, a mandatory prison term of 10 years may be required in a conviction. Your criminal defense lawyer’s quality, experience, and trial skills are very important in these cases. 

Man and woman looking at papers

Felon in possession of a firearm

Any individual who has a felony conviction and is caught in possession of a firearm will be facing a felony firearms charge, punishable by up to 15 years of incarceration in state prison. This serious criminal charge may be filed if a firearm is found in the home, car, or other locations believed to be under the control of a convicted felon. The accused individual may or may not have been aware of the presence of the firearm, but once an arrest has been made, there is no option other than hiring the best trial lawyer you can find – your future freedom will depend on the talent, knowledge, and trial skills of your attorney.

Illegal sale or delivery of a gun

While background checks are not required in Florida, some types of firearm sales are illegal. When selling a gun, the seller is required to ensure the buyer has the legal right to own a gun. The buyer is required to show a valid ID to the seller. No guns without serial numbers can be sold in the state or some firearm accessories, including bump stocks. If you are accused of this offense, you will be facing a felony charge. 

New Florida law regarding permitless carry

On July 1, 2023, permitless carry became legal in the state – but this law also has many restrictions. Any person carrying a concealed firearm must carry identification and produce it to law enforcement when requested. Open carry is still illegal in Florida, and a permit is still required unless you are actively fishing, camping, hunting, target shooting, or when en route to these activities. 

If you are found to be open carrying a firearm without a permit, you will be arrested and charged. Even with a permit, there are restrictions in many locations, including schools, colleges, athletic events, or any establishment licensed to serve alcohol, an airport, and many other places. If you have been arrested and charged with any crime related to possessing a firearm under the new law, you must ensure you retain a criminal attorney immediately.

Banner media

Why choose Correa & Martinez Trial Lawyers for firearm charges?

The trial attorneys at Correa & Martinez Trial Lawyers have achieved many remarkable successes in criminal court, and a firearms charge will take fast action to protect your rights and interests. After an arrest, you must exercise your right to remain silent and contact our firm at once. We do not operate like many other law firms but are responsive, accessible, and available to our clients throughout every process. We are well-prepared, aggressive, persuasive, and focused on protecting your freedoms in court. 

Contact us media
Accessibility: If you are vision-impaired or have some other impairment covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act or a similar law, and you wish to discuss potential accommodations related to using this website, please contact our Accessibility Manager at (305) 902-6110.
Contact Us